Area 1.183 million square km
Population 24.82 million (2011)
Capital City Hohhot


Inner Mongolia (Nei Mongo) Autonomous Region is situated in the north-most part of China, sharing a common border with the U.S.S.R. and the People's Republic of Mongolia. The capital city is Hohhot. The Autonomous Region of Inner Mongolia was set up on the 1st of May, 1947, it is the first autonomous region of minority nationalities in China. It has an area of over 1.183 million square kilometers (about 1/8 of total China area) and a population of 23.86 million (2006), comprising the Mongolian, Han, Daur, Ewenki, Oroqen, Hui, Manchu, Korean and other nationalities. Mongolian shares 18% of total population in Inner Mongolia.


The Region is bitterly cold in winter and warm in summer. The average annual temperature is in the range between -1°C and 10°C (30.2°F and 50°F). In January, the coldest month, the average temperature ranges from -23°C (-9.4°F) in the north-eastern part of the Region to -10°C (14°F) in the south-western part; in July, the warmest month, the average temperature ranges from 19°C (66.2°F) in the north-eastern part to 24°C  (75.2°F) in the south-western part. The temperature in the northern part is lower on the average than in the other places. The frost-free period varies from 90 to 160 days, and the average annual precipitation is between 50mm and 450mm, mostly in late summer and early autumn.

Brief History

During the period of Warring States, Inner Mongolia was partly occupied by the State of Zhao and partly inhabited by the Xiongnus—a minority nationality in the northern part of China. During the Han Dynasty (206 B.C. - 220), it covered the area occupied by the Xiongnus and prefectures of Wuyuan and Shoufang. In the Tang Dynasty, the autonomous prefectures of Feng and Seng were set up here. In Yuan Dynasty, it was divided into the prefectures of Shangdu, Jining, Dening, Jinzhou, Yinchang, etc. It became Inner Mongolia in Qing Dynasty (1644-1911). Over the long years in history, Nei Mongol was mainly a place where the nomadic nationalities lived and moved about. At the turn of the 12th and 13th centuries, under the rule of Genghis Khan, many tribes were unified into a single nationality with its own language, and the Yuan Empire was thus founded. After the Yuan Dynasty (1271-1368), Inner Mongolia has been placed successively under the rule of the Qing Dynasty, the Northern Warlords, the Kuomintang reactionaries and the Japanese imperialist.

Inner Mongolia Local Cuisine

The Traditional cuisine in Inner Mongolia takes beef and mutton, and particularly the latter, as its main ingredient. Among the famous dishes is barbecue lamb, roast tenderloin of lamb, roast leg of lamb, kebab, boiled mutton or whole lamb. The instant-boiled mutton in hot-pot to go with Zhaojun rice wine and sesame pancakes is a well-known delicious course usually served in winter. The beef courses are mostly braised or roasted. There are braised ox-tail, beef kebab, braised ox tendon, ox-tendon in egg-white, etc. Camel hoof with other delicacies is a dish that matches the taste of braised bear's paw and red-cooked or steamed mushrooms are real delicacies. The world-famous facia (a kind of edible algae), which means good omen and fortune to the native people, needs meticulous skill in preparing. It can be either cooked with meat made into vegetarian dishes, such as facia in egg-white and facia in casserole that unbelievable delicious. Braised elk's nose and crisp fried hazel grouse are all renowned delicacies.