About Inner Mongolia

Inner Mongolia (Nei Mongo) Autonomous Region is situated in the north-most part of China, sharing a common border with the U.S.S.R. and the People's Republic of Mongolia. The capital city is Hohhot. The Autonomous Region of Inner Mongolia was set up on the 1st of May, 1947, it is the first autonomous region of minority nationalities in China. It has an area of over 1.183 million square kilometers (about 1/8 of total China area) and a population of 23.86 million (2006), comprising the Mongolian, Han, Daur, Ewenki, Oroqen, Hui, Manchu, Korean and other nationalities. Mongolian shares 18% of total population in Inner Mongolia.

The Region is bitterly cold in winter and warm in summer. The average annual temperature is in the range between -1°C and 10°C (30.2°F and 50°F). In January, the coldest month


As one of the national autonomous regions of China, Inner Mongolia has her own special feature in education. In many schools, Mongolian is used as official language as well as modern Chinese. The region also has a lot muslin schools and schools of nationalities, ensuring equal opportunity of education in all nationalities.

Inner Mongolia University

Inner Mongolia University is located in Hohhot, the capital city of Inner Mongolia. It was founded in 1957, and is the earliest comprehensive university ever established in the ethnic regions of China. It was confirmed as a national key comprehensive university by the Ministry of Education of China in 1978 and became one of 100 universities of the “211 Project” universities for key construction and development in 1997. It also became the university to be jointly constructed by the Ministry of Education of China and the People’s Government of Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region in 2004. The first President of the University was Mr. Wulanfu, the Vice Premier of the State Council and ex-Chairman of the People’s Government of Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region. The current President is Prof. Chen Guoqing.

Inner Mongolia University’s academic system is wide-ranging and it covers 10 disciplines such as philosophy, economics, law, literature, history, sciences, engineering, agriculture, management and art theory. Two of the state-level key disciplines, Chinese Ethnic Language & Literature and zoology with their distinctive local and ethnic characteristics enjoy high prestige at home and abroad. Now the University consists of 23 colleges with 51 departments and one independent department for general education.

The University has 2,907 teachers and staff. The full-time teachers and researchers are 1,732 including 125 doctorate supervisors, 280 professors and 436 associate professors. The University boasts 1 academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, 5 double-employed academicians, 78 Special Government Allowance winners, 5 candidates of “Hundred-thousand-ten thousands Expert Project”, and 9 candidates of the “New Century Supporting Program for Outstanding Personnel of the Ministry of Education of China”.


In order to promote the mutual understanding, cooperation and exchanges in politics, economy, culture, education, and trade between China and other countries, the Chinese government has set up a series of scholarship programs to sponsor international students, teachers and scholars to study and research in Chinese universities. China Scholarship Council (hereinafter referred to as CSC), entrusted by the Ministry of Education of People’s Republic of China (hereinafter referred to as MOE), is responsible for the enrollment and administration of Chinese Government Scholarship programs.

Academic programs of Science, Engineering, Agriculture, Medicine, Economics, Law, Management, Education, History, Literature, Philosophy and Arts in 252 designated Chinese universities are available to scholarship winners.


Chinese Government Scholarship supports the following 7 programs.

1.Bilateral Program
This includes full or partial scholarships in accordance with educational exchange agreements or MOUs between the Chinese government and governments of other countries, institutions, universities and international organizations. It supports undergraduate programs, master’s programs, doctoral programs, general scholar programs and senior scholar programs. Applicants shall apply to the dispatching authorities for overseas study in their home countries.


What is the main language in Inner Mongolia?

People in Inner Mongolia mainly speak Mongolian and Mandarin Chinese. Some in the north and east can speak Russian

What is the main landscape there?

Inner Mongolia is famous for grassland and beautiful blue sky with cattle and sheep.

Main Authorities

Welcome to join us

Offical Wechat
Mobile platform